Induction Ceremony 2009

Event Details

16th Annual Induction Ceremony & Celebration
Women in Healthcare: Practitioners, Providers, and Policymakers
Thursday, October 29, 2009
Hartford Marriott Downtown


Click to visit each Inductee's profile page.

Martha Minerva
Franklin, R.N.

Pioneer of the movement for Black nurses

Visionary founder of Women’s Health Research at Yale
Smits, M.D

International healthcare leader and teacher


2009 Honorees: A New Century of Women in Healthcare


A New Century of Women in Healthcare honored thirteen distinguished women from all sectors of healthcare around the state.
Left-Right: (seated) Kristen Zarfos and Donna Galluzo; (standing) Marie Spivey, Sheryl Beetz, Martha Dale, Elizabeth Brady, Kathleen Grimaud, Debora Kustron, Linda Spoonster Schwartz, Mary Jan Minkin, Kathleen LaVorgna, Deborah Watts Miles, and Elizabeth Bozzuto.
View more information about each of the 2009 honorees.


Elizabeth Bozzuto, R.N., MBA, CASC
Executive Director, Naugatuck Valley Surgical Center
Vice President Surgical Services
St. Mary's Hospital
Waterbury, CT

Elizabeth W. Brady, M.D., MBA, FACS
Breast Cancer Surgeon, Center for Breast Care
Connecticut Surgical Group, PC
Medical Director, Breast Care Program, ECHN
Farmington, CT

Sheryl Breetz
Executive Director
North Central Regional Mental Health Board
Newington, CT

Martha Dale
Executive Director
New Haven, CT

Donna Galluzzo, Ph.D., R.D.
President & CEO
Homecare Management Strategies, Inc.
Wallingford, CT

Kathleen Tracy Grimaud, FNP-BC, MSN
Chief Executive Officer
Community Health & Wellness Center of Greater Torrington
Torrington, CT

Debora A. Kustron, Psy. D.
Vice President, Child & Family Services
Community Mental Health Affiliates
New Britain, CT

Kathleen LaVorgna, M.D., FACS
Assistant Chairman, Department of Survery
Director of Trauma Service
Senior Attending Surgeon
Norwalk Hospital
Norwalk, CT

Deborah Watts Miles, MSN, APRN-BC
Nurse Practitioner, Employee Health & Occupational Medicine
VA Connecticut Healthcare System
West Haven, CT

Mary Jane Minkin, M.D., FACOG
Clinical Professor, Dept. of Obstretics, Gynecology & Reproductive Sciences
Yale University School of Medicine
New Haven, CT

Linda Spoonster Schwartz, R.N., MSN, DrPH, FAAN
State of Connecticut Dept. of Veterans Affairs
Rocky Hill, CT

Marie Spivey, R.N., MPA, Ed.D.
Administrator of Allied Nursing/Nursing Initiatives & Programs
Capital Workforce Partners, Inc.
Hartford, CT

Kristen A. Zarfos, M.D., FACS
Director, Comprehensive Breast Health Center
St. Francis Hospital & Medical Center
Assistant Professor of Surgery
University of Connecticut School of Medicine
Hartford, CT


Special Recognition Awards

We are proud to recognize the following three individuals who are the only three women serving as CEO of Connnecticut hospitals.

In 2005, Marna P. Borgstrom was appointed President and CEO of Yale-New Haven Hospital (YNHH) and Yale New Haven Health System(YNHHS), making her the first woman in its history to be named president and chief executive officer. YNHH is a 944-bed private, nonprofit facility that ranks among the premier medical centers in the country. Borgstrom also heads Greenwich and Bridgeport Hospitals, both of which are YNHHS members. She began her long standing and distinguished career at YNHH 30 years ago, serving in many administrative roles, including Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer from 1993 to 2005. She holds a Master of Public Health degree in Hospital Administration from the Yale University School of Medicine and a Bachelor’s Degree in Human Biology from Stanford University.

Susan L. Davis R.N., Ed.D. was appointed President and CEO of St. Vincent’s Medical Center and St. Vincent’s Health Services in Bridgeport in 2004. St. Vincent’s Medical Center is a 473-bed acute care hospital and a leading referral center for open-heart surgery serving southwestern Connecticut. St. Vincent’s Health Services includes St. Vincent’s College, St. Vincent’s Special Needs and Hall Brooke Behavioral Health Services.   Prior to her appointment, Dr. Davis held senior management positions at Vassar Brothers Medical Center in Poughkeepsie for 18 years, including  serving as its CEO since 2001. She received her Master of Arts in Nursing Administration and Doctorate of Education from Columbia University with an emphasis in management. She holds a Bachelor of Science in Nursing from Mt. Saint Mary College. 

Lucille Janatka has been President and CEO of MidState Medical Center since  1999. She is credited with many professional achievements and is a selfless mentor to dozens of young healthcare leaders. Janatka was recently nationally recognized as one of the Top 25 Women in Healthcare by Modern Healthcare magazine. Additionally, she is the 2008 recipient of the Athena Award, which honors women who demonstrate excellence in their work. Prior to joining MidState, Janataka was the Vice President of Waterbury Hospital. She has also held leadership positions at The Hospital of Saint Raphael, Greenwich Hospital, St. Mary’s Hospital and the former Meriden-Wallingford Hospital. She received her BSN degree from St. Anselm College in Manchester, New Hampshire, and her MSN Degree from Boston College. 


Event Photos

Honorary Advisory Committee

We are grateful to the following women who served on our Honorary Advisory Committee and helped us to identify the 2009 Honorees.

Marie O'Brien
Connecticut Development Authority

Lisa Wilson-Foley

AllStar Therapy

Elizabeth Beaudin, R.N., Ph.D., NEA-BC    
Director, Nursing & Workforce Initiatives
Connecticut Hospital Association

Louise DeChasser, R.N., CNOR, M.S.
West Hartford Surgery Center

Jeannette B. De Jesus, MSW, MPA
President and CEO
Hispanic Health Council

Lesley Mills
Owner and DIrector
Griswold Special Home Care

Linda Milton
QA Project Manager
CIGNA Healthcare

Melinda Smolkin
VP for External Relations
Community Mental Health Affiliates

Ena Williams, MBA, MSM, R.N.
Nursing Director, Perioperative Services
Yale-New Haven Hospital


Platinum Sponsor:


Spotlight Sponsors:



Gold Sponsors:



Silver Sponsors:


Bronze Sponsors

Boehringer Ingelheim
CHA Connecticut Hospital Association
Connecticut State Medical Society
Griswold Special Care

Murtha Cullina LLP
People’s United Bank
Southern Connecticut State University
Pullman & Comley LLC
Reid and Riege, PC
Robinson & Cole LLP

St. Francis Hospital and
Medical Center
University of Hartford
Wiggin and Dana