Induction Ceremony 2011

Event Details

18th Annual Induction Ceremony & Celebration
Women of Influence: Creating Social Change
Tuesday, October 25, 2011    6:00-9:00 P.M.
Connecticut Convention Center in Hartford, CT

Looking for event photos?


Click to visit each Inductee's profile page.

Isabelle M. Kelley
Principal author of the Food Stamp Act of 1964 and first director of the U.S. Food Stamp Program
Denise L. Nappier
First African American female in the nation to be elected State Treasurer and the first elected to statewide office in Connecticut
Patricia M. Wald
First female judge to sit on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia, subsequently serving as its chief judge




2011 Notable Women of Influence Honorees



For more information about the 2011 Honorees, click here.

Miriam Butterworth
Trailblazing public servant and political activist
Former Chair, Public Utilities Control Authority

Elsie Cofield
Long-term activist for families living with HIV and AIDS
Founder and Executive Director, HIV/AIDS Interfaith Network

Joan Dunlop
Global and local policy shaper and leader in women’s health rights
Former President, International Women’s Health Coalition

Betty Gallo
Leading advocate for social justice, civil rights, and healthcare
Founder, Betty Gallo and Company

Bonita Grubbs
Unifying force for the common good addressing poverty, hunger, and homelessness
Executive Director, Christian Community Action, Inc.

Joette Katz
Former esteemed Connecticut State Supreme Court Justice
Commissioner, Connecticut Department of Children & Families

Christine Lodewick
Champion of diversity, equity, and women’s philanthropy
Philanthropist and community activist

Joan Quinn
Innovative leader in managed care for elderly and disabled individuals
Founder and former President, Connecticut Community Care, Inc.

Elizabeth Horton Sheff
Civil rights activist seeking equality in education
Lead plaintiff for Sheff vs. O’Neill

Dacia Toll
Top leader in the development of high-performing charter schools
Co-CEO and President, Achievement First


Honorary Event Chair

Eileen Whelley
Executive Vice President, Human Resources
The Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc.


Honorary Advisory Committee

We are grateful to the following women who served on this year's Honorary Advisory Committee and helped to identify the 2011 Notable Women of Influence.

Attorney Nan Birdwhistell
Murtha Cullina, LLP


Teresa Younger
Executive Director
Permanent Commission on the Status of Women

Janet Andre Block

Sharon Cappetta
Senior Philanthropic Officer
The Community Foundation for   Greater New Haven

Donna R. Galluzzo, Ph.D., R.D.
President & CEO
HMS Healthcare Management Solutions, Inc.

Lindy Lee Gold
Senior Development Specialist
State of Connecticut Department of Economic & Community Development

Mary Phil Guinan
Guinan Associates

Theresa Hopkins-Staten
Director, Connecticut Public Affairs
Northeast Utilities

Laurel Holmes
Director, Office of Community Health Outreach & Partnerships
Lawrence & Memorial Hospital

Mary Lee Kiernan, Esq.
Fairfield County Community Foundation Fund for Women and  Girls

Susan Lloyd Yolen
Vice President, Public Affairs & Communication
Planned Parenthood of Southern New England


Ella T. Grasso Leadership in Action Grant Award

Janet Yee Wah Tso, Founder and President of Operation 21st Century



Event Photos

Event Sponsors



The Hartford logo




Gold Sponsors:

Aberdeen Asset Management Aetna CPBN











Silver Sponsors:









Bronze Sponsors:

Accenture, Inc.

Citizens Bank

Connecticut College

First Niagara

First Southwest Company

Goldman Sachs

Hoffman Audi of East Hartford & New London

J.P.Morgan Asset Management

Morgan Keegan & Company

Morgan Stanley

Murtha Cullina LLP

People's United Bank

Pullman & Comley LLC

Reid & Riege, P.C.

Robinson & Cole, LLP

Shipman Goodwin LLP

Southern Connecticut State University

Walker Systems Support

Webster Bank