Induction Ceremony 2012

Event Details

19th Annual Induction Ceremony & Celebration
Women's Perspectives: Celebrating Voice and Vision
Thursday, October 18, 2012    6:00-9:00 P.M.
Connecticut Convention Center in Hartford, CT

Looking for event photos?



Anne Garrels

Ground-breaking journalist and 23-year NPR Senior Foreign Correspondent best known for her coverage of conflicts around the world

Annie Leibovitz

Internationally renowned photographer whose large and distinguished body of work includes some of the most well-known portraits of our time (Photo credit: Annie Leibovitz, Plano, Illinois, 2011 ©Annie Leibovitz, 2011)

Faith Middleton

Thought-provoking Connecticut radio broadcaster and celebrated host of The Faith Middleton Show, now in its thirtieth anniversary year on WNPR



2012 Voice and Vision Honorees


Dr. Regina Barreca
Celebrated humorist, academic and author
Professor of English literature and feminist theory, University of Connecticut

Jolie Rocke Brown
Award-winning and acclaimed soprano
Performance artist and music educator

Judy Dworin
Choreographer and creative force giving voice to women and human rights through dance/theater
Artistic Director, Judy Dworin Performance Project and Professor of Theater & Dance, Trinity College

Ed Johnetta Miller
Recipient of the prestigious Connecticut Governor's Art Award
Fiber artist, quilter, teacher, curator, lecturer, author

Dr. Marilyn Nelson
Recipient of the 2012 Frost Medal, former Connecticut Poet Laureate
Professor Emerita of English, University of Connecticut

Annie Keefe
Theatrical visionary and award-winning stage manager
Artistic Advisor, Westport Country Playhouse

Bessy Reyna
Recipient of the Library of Congress CT Lifetime Achievement Award for Service to the Literary Community
Bilingual poet, opinion columnist and activist

Diane Smith
Emmy-award winning TV journalist, radio broadcaster, author
CT-N producer and host, former on-air personality at WTNH, WTIC-AM, and CPTV

Christine Stuart
Editor and reporter who pioneered online capitol news coverage

Katharine Weber
Award-winning author
Teacher of fiction writing at Yale University, Columbia University and Kenyon College


Honorary Advisory Committee

We are grateful to the following women who served on this year's Honorary Advisory Committee and helped to identify the 2012 Voice and Vision Honorees.


Robyn Gengras
Duby McDowell Communications


Duby McDowell
Duby McDowell Communications

Mary Lou Aleskie
Executive Director
International Festival of Arts & Ideas

Diane Alverio
D.Alverio & Co.

Suzanne Levine
Poet & teacher of memoir

Susan Rottner
Retired President
Bank of America-CT

Billie C. Scruse
Executive Director
Hartford Public Access Television

Lisa Wexler
Talk Radio Host
The Lisa Wexler Show

Olivia S. White
Executive Director
Amistad Center for Art & Culture


Event Photos


Event Sponsors



The Hartford logo




Gold Sponsors:

Aetna CPBN
Mahoney & Sabol









Silver Sponsors:

Accenture Logo








Bronze Sponsors:


Conning & Company

Farmington Bank

First Niagara

General Federation of Women's Clubs of Connecticut

Hoffman Audi of East Hartford & New London

Murtha Cullina LLP

People's United Bank

PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Prudential Retirement

Pullman & Comley LLC

Robinson & Cole LLC

Southern Connecticut State University

The Perfect Promotion

The Walker Group

University of Saint Joseph

Webster Bank