Induction Ceremony 2014

Event Details

21st Annual Induction Ceremony & Celebration
Shaping our World: Women in Design & Innovation
Wednesday, October 29, 2014    6:00-9:00 P.M.
Connecticut Convention Center in Hartford, CT

Click here to purchase tickets and tables!


Jennifer Lawton

Jennifer Lawton

Innovative entrepreneur, technologist and pioneer in the 3D printing industry

Marian Salzman

Thought leader in public relations, among the world's top five trendspotters

Beatrix Farrand

Nationally renowned landscape architect (photo courtesy Beatrix Farrand Society Archives)


2014 Design & Innovation Honorees


Biree Andemariam, M.D.
Assistant Professor, UConn Health Center
Award-winning hematologist leading research and treatment of blood disorders including sickle cell disease and hemophilia, with particular attention to their impact on women's health

Rondelynn Bell & Naimah Spann
Co-Founders, NIRO
Innovative fashion designers and founders of an after-school program and experiential learning curriculum for young people

Marian Chertow, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Industrial Environmental Management, Yale University
Business and environment expert specializing in industrial symbiosis, industrial ecology and waste management strategies

Theresa Muenkel Christy
Fellow, Otis Elevator Company
Multiple patent holder and award-winning designer of vertical transportation configurations for some of the world's most recognizable structures

Erin Duffy, Ph.D.
Chief Scientific Officer, Melinta Therapeutics
Computational chemist developing next-generation antibiotics and leading expert ont he structure and function of bacterial ribosomes and the effect of antibiotics on their ribosomal targets

Katherine Emery
CEO & Founder, The Walker Group and Founder, reSET
Cutting-edge information technology leader and founder of New England's largest woman-owned technology services firm, tireless advocate for Connecticut as a hub for social enterprise

Sandra Diana Inga, Ph.D.
PK-12 STEM Director, Hartford Public Schools
Recognized STEM educator, leader and mentor in Hartford Public Schools, developing multiple STEM initiatives including co-chairing the design and implementation of a Blue Ribbon K-8 STEM magnet school

Mariko Masuoka
Principal, Pelli Clarke Pelli
Leader in environmentally-friendly building design and award-winning LEED designer of academic and commercial building projects in Connecticut and beyond

Joan M. Sienkiewicz
Program Supervisor, General Dynamics Electric Boat
Experienced naval architect and marine engineer, designing combat weapons systems and overseeing forward-end electronics integration in Virginia-class submarines

Anabella Villalobos, Ph.D.
Head of Neuroscience Medicinal Chemistry, Pfizer
Innovative drug discovery researcher and author of multiple patents and publications, developing leading-edge therapies for Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's disease and schizophrenia

2014 Junior Honoree

Recognizing that role models come in all shapes and sizes, we are proud to recognize a special Junior Design & Innovation Honoree this year!

11-year-old Kylie Simonds is a survivor of a rare childhood cancer who endured 46 weeks of chemotherapy, radiation and surgeries. Now cancer-free, she has turned her difficult experiences into a passion to help other children. Kylie has designed a chemo backpack that will allow kids receiving cancer treatment to have better mobility and will make their treatment experience less intimidating. Her invention won top honors at this year's Connecticut Invention Convention, and she's already received a provisional patent for her design! Kylie is currently working to raise awareness of her project and laying the groundwork to produce a working prototype of her design.


Honorary Advisory Committee

We are grateful to the following women who served on this year's Honorary Advisory Committee and helped to identify the 2014 Honorees.

Marie O'Brien
Bristol Hospital & Health Care Group, Inc.


Lizabeth Zlatkus
Board Director, Legal & General Group
President, LHZ Insights, LLC

Elizabeth A. Alquist
Intellectual Property Department Chair
Day Pitney, LLP

Victoria Elliott
Sotheby's International Realty

Susan Froshauer, Ph.D.
President & CEO
Connecticut United for Research Excellence (CURE)

Elizabeth Karter
Executive Director, Crossroads Venture Group
Managing Director, Enhanced Capital Partners

Nancy L'Esperance
Vice President, Human Resources
KAMAN Aerospace

Linda Richetelli-Pepe
Senior Executive Director, Market Development Payer Programs/Women in Surgery

Deborah A. Williams, Ph.D.
President & CEO
Her Game 2, Inc.



Event Sponsors

(as of 10/16/14)

Platinum Lead Sponsor:


Spotlight Sponsors:



Gold Sponsors:



Mahoney & Sabol















Silver Sponsors:













Bronze Sponsors:



Hoffman Audi of East Hartford and New London

Murtha Cullina LLP

People's United Bank

PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Pullman & Comley, LLC

Sheila Moses, CPA, P.C.

Southern Connecticut State University

The Ethel Walker School

The Travelers Companies, Inc.

Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies