Induction Ceremony 2016

Women's Wellness: Awareness, Advocacy & Action


Photo Gallery

Thanks to all who helped make our 23rd Annual Induction Ceremony a success!
Scroll through the gallery of event photos below, taken by Allegra Anderson Photography.


2016 Inductees

Rebecca Lobo

Award-winning athlete, Olympic Gold Medalist, successful television analyst, author, and advocate for breast cancer awareness and research

Jane Pauley

One of broadcasting’s most respected journalists and longtime advocate for children’s health, education and mental health

Dr. Joyce Yerwood

First African American woman physician in Fairfield County, founder of the Yerwood Center and pioneer in drug treatment programs

2016 Women's Wellness Honorees


Nancy M. Cappello, Ph.D.
Director & Founder, Are You Dense, Inc. & Are You Dense Advocacy, Inc.
Tireless breast health advocate raising awareness of dense breast tissue and securing legislation and funding for expanded mammography

Lisa Chedekel & Lynne DeLucia
Co-Founders & Senior Editors, Connecticut Health I-Team
Award-winning investigative reporters focusing on in-depth coverage of women's health issues

Manon M.J. Cox, Ph.D., MBA
President & CEO, Protein Sciences Corporation
Internationally recognized expert in innovative vaccines to treat influenza and other illnesses

Maria Ellis, M.D.
Physician & Ob/Gyn, Woodland Women's Health Associates, Women's Health Connecticut
Dedicated women's health innovator, educator, and mentor celebrated among Connecticut's top Ob/Gyns

Sally G. Haskell, M.D.
Deputy Chief Consultant for Clinical Operations & Director of Comprehensive Women's Health in Women's Health Services, Veterans Health Administration; Associate Professor, Yale School of Medicine
National leader in healthcare for female veterans, focusing on gender-specific outcomes after combat exposure

Karen M. Jarmoc
Chief Executive Officer, Connecticut Coalition Against Domestic Violence
Influential policymaker and statewide advocate for victims of domestic violence

Margo Maine, Ph.D.
Founder, Maine and Weinstein Specialty Group, LLC
Award-winning author and internationally recognized expert in the treatment and prevention of eating disorders

Linda Richetelli-Pepe, MBA, CHC
Senior Director, Healthcare Economics: Payer/Employer Solutions, Medtronic
Innovative leader in delivering aligned value-based healthcare solutions and internationally recognized advocate for ergonomic medical devices and business acumen for female surgeons

Marlene Schwartz, Ph.D.
Director, University of Connecticut Rudd Center for Food Policy & Obesity
Award-winning researcher and advocate for improved food and nutrition policy focusing on factors that shape children's eating attitudes and behaviors

Virginia Stuermer, M.D.
Retired Ob/Gyn and Clinical Associate, Yale School of Medicine
Pioneer in providing reproductive services for women and among first practicing female Ob/Gyn in New Haven

2016 Founding President's Award Recipient



2016 Special Recognition Award Recipient


Event Sponsors

(as of 10/18/16)

Platinum Lead Sponsor:


Spotlight Sponsor:


Gold Sponsors:




Silver Sponsors:
















Bronze Sponsors:

Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield


The Ethel Walker School

The Hartford Steam Boiler Inspection & Insurance Company

Hoffman Audi of East Hartford & New London


Murtha Cullina LLP

People's United Bank


Southern Connecticut State University

Women's Health Connecticut

Yale New Haven Health

Community Partners:

Connecticut State Medical Society