Induction Ceremony 2018


Women Center Stage:

Celebrating 25 Years of Putting

Women in the Spotlight



Photo Gallery

Thanks to all who helped make our 24th Annual Induction Ceremony a success!
Click the photo below to scroll through the gallery of event photos below, taken by Allegra Anderson Photography.



Monday, November 5th, 2018, 6pm to 9pm
Connecticut Convention Center

2018 Inductees

Anika Noni Rose

Tony Award winning actress of TV, film, and stage, and voiced the first black Disney princess in The Princess and the Frog

Tina Weymouth

Innovative Rock & Roll Hall of Fame bass guitarist, songwriter and co-founder of the influential rock and funk bands Talking Heads and Tom Tom Club; pioneer of New Wave and Hip Hop

Lucia Chase

Co-Founder, Director, and benefactor of the American Ballet Theatre, whose vision and tenacity brought about a new, American style of ballet dancing

2018 Women Center Stage Honorees

Èzili Dantò
Executive Director, Zili Dlo
Award-winning Playwright, Cultural Activist, Master Haitian Dancer/Choreographer, a Vodun Jazzoetry Performance Poet and Human Rights Lawyer.

Angelica Durrell
Founder and Executive Director, INTEMPO
An Ecuadorian-born violinist, educator, social entrepreneur, and artist ambassador for SpreadMusicNow.

Grace Feldman
Head of String, Ensemble and Early Music Departments, Neighborhood Music School
A former faculty member at New England Conservatory, Wesleyan University, Hartt School of Music and Wellesley College who has performed extensively with New York Pro Musica Viol Consort, NY Trio Da Camera and the New England Consort, and has taught violin, viola da gamba, recorder and ensembles at the Neighborhood Music School in New Haven, CT for over 50 years.

Tina Hadari
Director of Music, Arts, and Citizenship, Brass City Charter School
Violinist, Educator, Founder and former Executive Director of Music Haven. 

Rachel Jett
Artistic Director, National Theater Institute
A 2006 Baryshnikov Fellow, first American aspirant to Andrei Droznina, lyricist/librettist and former company member of the award-winning Stanislavsky Theater Studio and SYNETIC.

Peggy Lyman Hayes
Dance Educator, Dancer, Artistic Director, Choreographer
A former principal dancer with the Martha Graham Dance Company, and currently a master instructor at the Martha Graham School of Contemporary Dance.

Lise Reardon
Founder and Executive Director, Eastern Connecticut Ballet
Dancer with the Ruth Page Ballet Company and Dance Major, The Juilliard School. Serves on the Advisory Board of the Connecticut Dance Alliance and is a member of the SECT Cultural Coalition.
Gloria Govrin
Artistic Director, Eastern Connecticut Ballet
Served as the Associate Director of the San Francisco Ballet School, principal teacher at the official school of the Pennsylvania Ballet and ballet soloist for the New York City Ballet.

Julia B. Rosenblatt
Playwright and Co-Founder of HartBeat Ensemble
A playwright, director and recognized theater educator, she is the recipient of numerous grants and awards for her writing and education work, including the National Endowment for the Arts New Works award.

Vita West Muir
Executive/Artistic Director/Founder Litchfield Performing Arts, Litchfield Jazz Festival & Litchfield Jazz Camp
Award-winning artistic program director and first recipient of the CultureMAX Lifetime Achievement Award for her work presented by the Northwest Connecticut Arts Council.

Sherry Winston
Owner at Sherry Winston, Jazz Flutist
Premier Jazz Artist, composer and music producer, former National Director of Jazz Promotions, former Director at Columbia Records, Arista, GRP and Elektra-Asylum Records.

2018 Founding President's Award Recipient

Event Sponsors

(as of 9/13/18)


GOLD Sponsors:





Media Sponsor:


Exclusive Magazine Sponsor:



Silver Sponsors:








Bronze Sponsors:

Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield



Day Pitney LLP

Elizabeth Panke Design

Hartford Steam Boiler Inspection and Insurance Company

Hoffman Auto Group

Key Bank

People's United Bank

Pullman and Comley LLC


Southern Connecticut State University.

The Ethel Walker School


Yale New Haven Health